Paul… suffering for Christ…

Standard

There are so many times in my life that I have asked God, “Why me?” “Why do I have to go through this or that?” Many times I get stuck in a place of thinking that no one else around me is dealing with as much stuff and that I don’t deserve it. The other day I was reading in 2 Corinthians and got punched in the face when I got to chapter 16 verses 16-33. Here we find Paul writing to the Corinthians about his sufferings. He is not complaining about them, but is boasting about them. He knows that in his weakness God is made known to those around him!

I want to be in a place where I don’t complain about the things going on in my life, or even the things that aren’t happening that I think should be. There are so many things that I may never understand why they happened, but I know that God is with me every step of the way.

Recently, I had a conversation with a friend and we were talking about our relationships with God. I desire to be close to God, but I know that I have allowed other things to distract me from my relationship with Him. There are some friendships in my life that I have tried to mend, or to keep, but yet I have neglected the most important person in my life. I want to change that and make Him the most important person in my life. I can look back at my life and know that things didn’t seem as bad when He was at the center.

Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
- 2 Corinthians 12:8-10

Leave a Reply

